About blogging time!!!

About blogging time!!!

So here I am, tucking into a distinctly mediocre lemon drizzle cake from my local bakery (I prefer the lemon sharp enough to make my lips disappear, I’m afraid this one is more drizzle than lemon!), sipping a cup of earl grey and finally starting my blog!

I feel like it’s been years in the making but you can’t rush into these things. In baking terms my idea “kneaded” time to “prove”……oh dear! I’m always one for a trip advisor review and my friends and I love an afternoon catching up over tea and cake. It seemed the perfect combo, so my blog idea was born.

My first post just happens to fall on national afternoon tea week and I have been discovering there are more variations on afternoon tea that one person can experience in a  life time (now there’s a challenge). It seems you don’t even have to stick with tea, be it builders or herbal, many Hotels are offering Champagne, Prosecco or even Gin as an accompaniment. Everything in moderation my dear.

For those a little more health concious La Suite West at Hyde Park is offering a vegan Afternoon tea accompanied by 100% organic, natural tea infusions. I feel cleansed just reading about it, although I’m not sure that’s what I crave from a cakey treat!

For kids, large or small, the Taj Hotel has a Jungle Book Themed Tea in conjunction with Hamleys and the Born Free Foundation. An quirky menu including Mowgli’s jungle pink guava and basil Jelly, Shere Khans masala chai Eclair and curry egg mayo in a brioche bun. A little pricey at £45 but at least some of the proceeds are going to charity.

If you fancy something a little more relaxing The Montagu Hotel if offering Afternoon Tea alongside an Elemis facial and goody bag. This comes in a tidy £38 per person or £47 with a glass of bubbly! Pretty average pricing for the London Hotels and they all seem to be on board with the National celebration of this British tradition; The Palm Court Park Lane, Fortnum & Mason, and The Dorchester to mention just a few. These prices will guarantee you quality goodies crafted by a skilled pâtissier and there is no question that the surroundings will be plush, however, at these places I often feel a little bit Pretty Woman at the Polo!

Traditional afternoon tea is something everyone should experience to enjoy the glamour and ceremony of it all. However this is not a place I’d like to live, I can visit on occasion and act lady like for a few hours but ultimatley I want to be at ease. The Afternoon Tea Week site is a little London heavy which is a shame. Maybe next year, as it’s popularity grows, there will be more independent bakers promoted.

Whether it’s a country house, a posh hotel, a local bakery or your own kitchen make some time for you this week and enjoy a slice of what you fancy. I know I will be!

Leave a comment